NHL teams with the most Stanley Cups after Avalanche beat Lightning

The Colorado Avalanche are Stanley Cup champions.

The Avs shot down the Tampa Bay Lightning 2-1 in Game 6 at the Amalie Arena on Sunday night to complete the 2022 Cup Final and conquer Lord Stanley.

As two-time defending champions, the Lightning just wanted to become the sixth team all-time to win three straight cup finals, and the first since New York Islanders in the early 1980s.

But the Bolts ultimately fell two wins short of the rare feat as Colorado tied with Tampa Bay on the all-time championship leaderboard…

How many Stanley Cups have the Colorado Avalanche won?

Colorado has never been on the losing side of a Stanley Cup Final. All three of the Avs’ appearances in the championship round resulted in a title. The avalanche swept the Florida Panther in the 1996 final and survived New Jersey Devil in the seven-game final in 2001 before dethroning the Bolts in six games that year.

Which team has the most Stanley Cups in NHL history?

With three championships, the Avs now sit in 11th place with the Devils and Lightning NHL Stanley Cup List.

Despite their last championship in 1993, the Montreal Canadiens have one extremely comfortably ahead of the first-place title winners in NHL history. Montreal, an Original Six club, has had 23 Stanley Cup championships since 1918, 11 more than the next closest team. Ten of Canada’s Stanley Cups were won in the Expansion Era (since 1968).

The rest of the Top 5 are also made up of Original Six teams. The Toronto Maple Leafs are second with 13 titles, zero of which are expansion-era releases, and the Detroit Red Wings are third with 11 titles, four of which are expansion-era releases.

That Boston Bruins and Chicago Blackhawks round out the top 5 with six championships each. Both the Blackhawks and Bruins have won three titles in the Expansion era.

The Edmonton Oilers and Pittsburgh Penguins lead the non-original six clubs in the Stanley Cups with five each, ranking sixth overall.

That New York Rangers, the other Original Six team, sits eighth with four championships with the Islanders and St. Louis Eagles (the original Ottawa Senators). Only one of the Rangers titles was won in the expansion era.

Here’s a fully updated look at the all-time Stanley Cup rankings:

1. Montreal Canadiens: 23

2. Toronto Maple Leafs: 13

3. Detroit Red Wings: 11

T-4. Boston Bruins: 6

T-4. Chicago Blackhawks: 6

T-6. Edmonton Oiler: 5

T-6. Pittsburgh penguins: 5

T-8 New York Islanders: 4

T-8 New York Rangers: 4

T-8 St Louis Eagles: 4

T-11. Colorado Avalanche: 3

T-11. New Jersey Devil: 3

T-11. Tampa Bay Blitz: 3

T-14 Kings of Los Angeles: 2

T-14 Montreal Maroon: 2

T-14 Philadelphia Flyer: 2







s.parentNode.insertBefore(t,s)}(window, document,’script’,

function getCookie(cname) {
let name = cname + “=”;
let decodedCookie = decodeURIComponent(document.cookie);
let ca = decodedCookie.split(‘;’);
for (let i = 0; i < ca.length; i++) { let c = ca[i]; while (c.charAt(0) == ' ') { c = c.substring(1); } if (c.indexOf(name) == 0) { return c.substring(name.length, c.length); } } return ""; } if (getCookie('usprivacy') === '1YYN') { fbq('dataProcessingOptions', ['LDU'], 0, 0); } fbq('init', '674090812743125'); fbq('track', 'PageView');

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.